top of page

Women's championship



Second highest league of women's football in England

Founded: 2014 - Replaced Premier League National as level 2 women's football division

League sponsor: Barclays

Current champion 2021-22: Liverpool (1st title)

Most championships: Liverpool, Aston Villa, Sunderland, Reading, Yeovil Town, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Manchester United, Leicester City (1 title each)

2021-22 Top scorer: Abi Harrison (17 goals)

2022-23 Season dates: 20 August - 30 April

Teams: 12

Rounds: 22

Total matches: 132

Format: Each club plays the others twice, once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents, for a total of 22 games. 

At the end of each season, the club with the most points is crowned the champion. If points are equal between teams, what determines the winner is:

  1. Goal difference

  2. Number of goals scored

Relegation / Promotion: The winner will promote to Women's Super League and the bottom one club will be relegated to FA National League,

bottom of page