Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 16.55.02.png

Eredivisie Cup Final
Ajax vs FC Twente
5 June 12:30 GMT

(Regular season)

Last updated 23 August


Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 17.04_edited.jpg

Highest league of women's football in Netherlands

Founded: 2007

League sponsor:  Pure Energie

Current champions 2020-21: FC Twente (7th title)

Most championships: FC Twente (7 titles)

2020-21 Top scorer: Joëlle Smits (23 goals)

2021-22 Season dates: 27 August - 20 May

Teams: 9*

*The 2021-22 season will see Feyenoord entering the league, meaning the league will be expanded to include nine teams from eight before

Regular season rounds: 18

Total matches regular season: 72

Format: In the new competition model from 2021-22 season, the old play-offs are canceled, as the league have had before, and all teams play against each other three times in a regular season. The ranking after all clubs have played against each other twice determines the home/away ratio of the third period of the competition and determines which teams will play four home matches and whom to play four away matches.

During the season, the clubs play for period titles. The winners of these period titles come out in a new form of the Eredivisie Cup. In that new model, knockout matches are played to win that separate title.

Relegation / Promotion: There is no relegation nor promotion in the league

UWCL Qualification: The champion and runner-up

Screenshot 2021-08-24 at 08.26_edited.jpg