Screenshot 2021-05-29 at 22.12.40.png


Last updated 26 May



Highest league of women's football in Norway

Founded: 1984

  • 2000–present (as Toppserien) 

  • 1996–1999 (as Eliteserien) 

  • 1984–1995 (as 1. divisjon)

League sponsor: Norsk Tipping

2021 Season: 22 May - 13 November

Teams: 10

Match rounds: 18*

Matches played overall: 90*


UWCL Qualification: Top two teams  

Relegation: 10th placed in Toppserien relegate to 1. Divisjon. 9th placed in Toppserien play qualifier against 2nd placed in 1. Divisjon

Promotion: 1st placed in 1. Divisjon promote to Toppserien. 2nd placed play qualifier against 9th placed in Toppserien


Current champions: Vålerenga (1st title)


Most championships: LSK Kvinner / Trondheims-Ørn (7 titles each)

2020 Top scorer: Ajara Nchout Njoya (10 goals)

*A new series system was planned for the 2021 season but the postponement of the season due to covid-19 meant Toppserien will still play a regular double series as previous years and the new series system will have to wait.

Photo sources: Instagram: @lisamarieku