top of page


Season Kick Off 16 March



In 2024, 121 matches will be aired together with NWSL partners in the US: 

All remaining matches will be available for free on NWSL+, the league’s first-ever streaming platform.  

You can use the NWSL+ app (coming soon) on AppleTV, Roku, FireTV, Android, or iOS.

The NWSL Playoff will be aired as follows


  • All matches will be available on NWSL+ 

  • Africa: Two games each week on ESPN (DStv Channel 218, StarSat 248)

  • Australia: All matches on Optus Sport

  • Brazil: Selected matches also on Canal GOAT Youutbe channel

  • Canada: Three games each week in the regular season, three quarter-finals, both semi-finals and the final on the TSN network

  • Portugal: Two games each week on Canal 11


National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) is the highest league of women's soccer/football in the United States

Founded: 2012

2024 Regular season: 16 March – 3 November

Teams: 14

2024 Expansion teams: Bay FC and Utah Royals (the latter returns)

Rounds: 26

2024 Playoff season: 9 November - 23 November 

Season start: The season is scheduled to begin with the 2024 NWSL Challenge Cup, a Supercup match between the reigning playoff champion (NJ/NY Gotham FC) and NWSL Shield winner San Diego Wave FC, on March 15, 2024. The regular season will begin the following day. The league will pause for a month between July 8 and August 18 for the 2024 Summer Olympics.

Format: The top eight teams in the final standings at the end of the NWSL season qualify for the playoffs and the quarter-finals.

Relegation / Promotion: No relegation / promotion as NWSL is a franchise league 

Current champions 2023: NJ/NY Gotham FC (1st title)

Current NWSL Shield* 2023: San Diego Wave FC (1st shield)

Top Scorer 2023: Sophia Smith (11 goals)

Most championships: Portland Thorns FC (3 titles)

Most NWSL Shields*: OL Reign and North Carolina Courage (3 shields each)

*Annual award given to the team with the best regular season record

bottom of page