Screenshot 2021-07-13 at 10.09.32.png

WHERE TO WATCH - Apertura season


Screenshot 2021-07-12 at 10_edited.jpg

Highest league of women's football in Mexico

Founded: 2016 (first season 2017)

Sponsor: BBVA

2022 Apertura* Regular season: 8 July - 24 October

Play-offs: 27 October - 14 November

Teams: 18

Rounds: 17 

Total Matches: 167 (153 + 14 playoffs)

Knockout Stage: The top eight teams qualify to the knockout stage: Quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are played with a two-legged system; a home + away game for each team.

Current champion (2022 Clausura): Chivas Guadalajara

Current champion (2021 Apertura): Monterrey

Top goal scorer 2022 Clausura: Alicia Cervante 14 goals

Top goal scorer 2021 Apertura: Alicia Cervantes 17 goals

Most championships all seasons: Tigres UANL (4 titles)

*The Apertura and Clausura tournaments is a split season format common for many Latin American football leagues in which the season is divided in two sections per season (Apertura + Clausura) each with its own champion.

Photo sources: Instagram @ligabbvamxfemenil

* Central America =​

Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama